Mackinnon wins epic in relegation fight

By Farnham Herald in Racquet Sports

FRIMLEY B are fighting for their lives in Division Two of the Aldershot Table Tennis League and they certainly showed the right stuff in their draw with Cody B.

David Mackinnon was unbeaten for Frimley and his treble included a 23-21 final-game success over Kin Chan who won twice. Vasco Correira also won two for Frimley.

Fleet A continued their march towards promotion with an 8-2 victory over Ash C. David Joyce secured a maximum and team-mates Lawrence Dack and Melvyn Lovegrove supported with doubles, both losing to Ash’s Frank Winnard.

Frimley C and Braybrooke A split the points. Robert Hawes was unbeaten for Braybrooke, while Derek Seager and Andy Griffiths won two apiece for Frimley.

Tennis E edged past Cody A 6-4, with Pu Zhang (Tennis) and Peter Anthony (Cody) both claiming doubles.

In Division?One, Ash A recorded a much-needed 6-4 win against Tennis C, thanks to a hat-trick from Dave Halfpenny. Team-mate Nick Mills won twice, as did Paul Shakespeare of Tennis.

Central B, again fielding the two-man team of Martin Townshend and Robin Pretty, won all the points available against Tennis D.

In the Division Three relegation clash, Tennis G helped their cause with a 7-3 victory over an injury-hit Fleet B. Charles Burton won all three for Tennis and Rob Brook took two for Fleet.

Frimley D remain top, despite having only two players in a draw with Ash D. Tony Harrison and Gary Nicholson both won twice, each losing to Ash’s Terry French.

The Cody C and D teams played out a draw. John Harvey was the star performer with a maximum for the Cs, while Dean Hewitt and Bob Fenner both won twice for the D side.

Tennis F kept up their push for promotion with a narrow 6-4 win over Crawley Ridge A. Ken Thompson was unbeaten for Crawley and Paul Jarvis and Graham Marshall both won twice for Tennis.

Tennis H and Frimley E drew 5-5 in Division Four. Dennis Smith won all three for Frimley and team-mate Paul Phelan won two, as did Martin Evans for Tennis.

Braybrooke B thumped Ash F 9-1. Mick Rumbold and Kenny Duarte were unbeaten and Sandra Jackson won twice.


Div I

Central B 7 Tennis D 3, Ash A 6 Tennis C 4

Div II

Ash C 2 Fleet A 8, Cody B 5 Frimley B 5, Frimley C 5 Braybrooke A 5, Tennis E 6 Cody A 4


Crawley Ridge A 4 Tennis F 6, Fleet B 3 Tennis G 7, Cody C 5 Cody D 5, Ash D 5 Frimley D 5 Division 4 Tennis H 5 Frimley E 5, Ash F 1 Braybrooke B 9

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C