A SCHEME which recognises the great and good of an East Hampshire village is being expanded.

Liss Parish Council will anoint its 2024 Villager of the Year in March in recognition of the winner’s contribution to the local community.

Nominations are being sought with the winner being crowned at the Annual Parish Meeting on March 20.

This year’s scheme includes new categories to recognise the outstanding contribution made by youngsters in the village, with awards for the 6-11 and 12-16 age groups.

Nominees for the main award must have given their time voluntarily to a group, organisation or the parish as a whole.

The 6-11 and 12-16 titles will be awarded to a young person who has made an outstanding contribution to the local community or who has “achieved something special which is deserving of recognition”.

Nominees must be sponsored by a qualifying adult, like a relative, youth group leader or teacher, with February 12 being the deadline for all suggestions.

Previous winners include Tom Collard, Iain Neasom, Sue Marriott, Annie Coley, Ruth Taylor, Jenny Bennett and Ella Townsend.

Nominations must be submitted in writing to the parish clerk with information on why the person deserves the title, either to [email protected] or The Council Room, Hill Brow Road, Liss, GU33 TLA