Aldershot and Farnham Hockey Club (AFHC) have held their end-of-season awards for the junior section.

The wet weather didn’t dampen the spirits with fun matches and penalty shoot-outs taking place throughout the day.

AFHC vice-chairman Mark Edgley said: “It’s great to see the smiling faces of so many children enjoying playing hockey – even in the rain. The youth section in AFHC is pivotal to the success of our club and there’s nothing more rewarding than seeing players developing their hockey through the age groups and ultimately into the adult sides.

“This wouldn’t be possible without the huge amount of work done throughout the season by Gillian Lamb, our junior chairman, and those who volunteer week in, week out to support. A big thank-you to everybody involved and congratulations to all our award recipients.”

Award winners: under-eight girls: coaches’ player – Martha Brown, most improved player – Eilidh Greig-Bonnier. Under-eight boys: coaches’ player – Archie Hindocha, most improved player – Theo Dews. Under-ten girls: coaches’ player – Sophie Archer, most improved player – Rose Constable, most improved (highly commended) – Zara Pepper. Under-ten boys: coaches’ player – Mason Connelly, most improved player – Sam Cobbold.

Under-12 boys: coaches’ player – Charlie Archer, most improved player – Toby Coton, players’ player – Nathan Stanley.

Under-12 girls: coaches’ player – Ellie Darlow, most improved player – Amy Santos-Eagle, players’ player – Lucy Rushmere.

Under-14 girls: coaches’ player – Kaitlin McCabe, most improved player – Phoebe Williams, players’ player – Martha Lamb.

Under-14 boys: coaches’ player – Isaac Mylrea, most improved player – Harry Pugh. Goalkeeper award: most improved girl – Maisie Whybro, most improved boy – Zack Edgley.