Frensham Pond Sailability have been crowned national Hansa TT champions for the 15th time.

The final event of the season took place at Frensham although the overall series – and the Ben Ainslie Trophy – is decided on the performances in all races.

Victory was assured thanks to splendid performances by the Frensham team of Lindsay Burns, Mike Everitt and Tessa Watkiss.

The scheduled action at Frensham had a quiet start with almost no wind. After a few periods of calm the weather picked up later, with some serious racing.

Sadly the first race had to be abandoned when the wind died, but as soon as it picked up again, racing was resumed.

The Hansa 2.3s started first and the race was won by local sailor Lara Sturgis, with her colleague Andrew Lebec not far behind.

Next were the Liberty fleet, with two boats from Frensham and four from other clubs. Despite problems with weed, Tessa Watkiss came in second.

Nine boats took part in the Hansa 303 single-handed fleet and Harry Kennington from Frensham finished a comfortable second.

It was good to see Chichian Wu from the Chinese Taipei Sailing Association taking part on his first visit to Frensham.

The Hansa 303 double-handed fleet had six boats – with two from Frensham – with locals James and Maddy Woosnam winning the race.

For more information about Frensham Pond Sailability, see